Duel · Wines · 2 addresses
Chianti Rufina Riserva DOCG – Frescobaldi ou Montecucco Sangiovese DOCG Riserva - Colliforti ?
Two wines compared criterion by criterion with the editorial rating, the recorded price and the amenities. Verdict written by the code, based on the editorial team's justifications.
AChianti Rufina Riserva DOCG – Frescobaldi
Frescobaldi · €15 to €30
reliability high
15,37 € 18,60 €
BMontecucco Sangiovese DOCG Riserva - Colliforti
Colliforti · €15 to €30
reliability medium
29,00 €
The verdict
Chianti Rufina Riserva DOCG – Frescobaldi takes the lead
Chianti Rufina Riserva DOCG – Frescobaldi scores 8,4/10, ahead of Montecucco Sangiovese DOCG Riserva - Colliforti (7,4). Frescobaldi Chianti Rufina Riserva at 90% Sangiovese, named Rufina subzone, awarded Tre Bicchieri and aged a minimum of 24 months, at €15.37. Limitations: 10% Merlot and Cabernet Sauvignon, and organic status not specified.
Choose Chianti Rufina Riserva DOCG – Frescobaldi if…
- you want the safest value in the duel: best overall score (8,4), level with or ahead on typicité & terroir, reconnaissance et rapport qualité/prix
- you prioritise reconnaissance (8,6 vs 6,0) : Tre Bicchieri, 4 grappoli Bibenda, 3 stelle Veronelli, plus scores of 90 to 92 from Suckling, Parker and Wine Spectator: high recognition.
- you prioritise rapport qualité/prix (8,4 vs 7,1) : €15.37 for a Chianti Rufina Riserva awarded Tre Bicchieri, with a crossed-out price of €18.60: clearly below the usual price for this tier.
- you care about sangiovese, cabernet et merlot: amenities that only this listing mentions
Choose Montecucco Sangiovese DOCG Riserva - Colliforti if…
- you prioritise producteur & vinification (8,3 vs 7,9) : Colliforti named and located on Monte Amiata, organic, manual harvest, 24 months in barriques then 12 months in bottle: detailed practices.
- you care about agriculture biologique: the only listing in the head-to-head to mention it
Its weak point in this head-to-head: reconnaissance (6,0). No distinction or guide mentioned; producer not cited in a reputation text: note of simple absence of information.
Reliability high / medium : ratings based on the file of each listing, not on a stay by our team · Ratings of the 20 October 2026 · Our rating method
Criterion by criterion
The 5 criteria of the score
Why these ratings?
Chianti Rufina Riserva DOCG –…Rufina subzone named as DOCG, Sangiovese at 90% with Malvasia Nera and Colorino, galestro soil described: a clear Tuscan anchor, but 10% Merlot and Cabernet.
Montecucco Sangiovese DOCG Ri…Montecucco Sangiovese DOCG Riserva from the Amiata, at least 90% Sangiovese, volcanic soils, sandstone, marl and clay at 245 m: precise anchoring.
Why these ratings?
Chianti Rufina Riserva DOCG –…Tre Bicchieri, 4 grappoli Bibenda, 3 stelle Veronelli, plus scores of 90 to 92 from Suckling, Parker and Wine Spectator: high recognition.
Montecucco Sangiovese DOCG Ri…No distinction or guide mentioned; producer not cited in a reputation text: note of simple absence of information.
Why these ratings?
Chianti Rufina Riserva DOCG –…€15.37 for a Chianti Rufina Riserva awarded Tre Bicchieri, with a crossed-out price of €18.60: clearly below the usual price for this tier.
Montecucco Sangiovese DOCG Ri…29 € for an organic Montecucco Riserva of about 3,000 bottles and more than three years of aging: price consistent with this rank.
Why these ratings?
Chianti Rufina Riserva DOCG –…Pairs with red meats, game and aged cheeses, red fruit and spice profile, served at 16-18 °C: easy to match this riserva.
Montecucco Sangiovese DOCG Ri…Red meats, game, braised dishes and aged cheeses, profile of ripe fruits, spices and fine tannins: varied pairings and described profile.
Why these ratings?
Chianti Rufina Riserva DOCG –…Frescobaldi named in Rufina, steel fermentation, wood aging and minimum 24 months specified; neither hand harvesting nor organic certification indicated.
Montecucco Sangiovese DOCG Ri…Colliforti named and located on Monte Amiata, organic, manual harvest, 24 months in barriques then 12 months in bottle: detailed practices.
Features
Price, estate, grape variety, vintage
What is written on the listing. “Not specified” is not “no”.
| Criterion | Chianti Rufina Riserva DOCG –… | Montecucco Sangiovese DOCG Ri… |
|---|---|---|
| Recorded price | 15,37 € | 29,00 € |
| Price per 75 cl | 15,37 € | 29,00 € |
| Estate | Frescobaldi | Colliforti |
| Traveller rating | not specified | not specified |
| Reliability of our score | high | medium |
| Color | Red | Red |
| Area | Chianti Rufina & Pomino | Val d'Orcia & Mont Amiata |
| Price | €15 to €30 | €15 to €30 |
| Vintage | 2023 | 2021 |
| Estate | Frescobaldi | Colliforti |
| Bottle or gift box | Wines | Wines |
| Grape variety | not specified | Sangiovese |
| Sangiovese | Yes | not specified |
| Cabernet | Yes | not specified |
| Merlot | Yes | not specified |
| Colorino | Yes | not specified |
| Malvasia | Yes | not specified |
| Sauvignon | Yes | not specified |
| Organic farming | not specified | Yes |
If you book or order through one of these links, we earn a commission, at no extra cost to you. The partner never influences the rating or the verdict.
Change an address
Other well-rated wines
Other duels
Also worth reading
vs
Wines · Chianti Rufina & Pomino
Chianti Rufina Riserva DOCG – Frescobaldi or Chianti Rufina Riserva DOCG – Frescobaldi ?
The two best-rated wines: Chianti Rufina & Pomino
vs
Wines · Montalcino
Brunello di Montalcino DOCG – Antinori or Brunello di Montalcino DOCG – Donatella Cinelli Colombini ?
Same rating, two different addresses
vs
Wines · Montalcino
Brunello di Montalcino DOCG – Fattoria dei Barbi or Brunello di Montalcino DOCG – Donatella Cinelli Colombini ?
Same rating, two different addresses
Alcohol abuse is dangerous for health, consume in moderation.
All wines